Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Chi-Towns Finest
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, im new to riding my r6 (only ridden about 15 times)....and im having this problem with locking the rear tire when coming to sudden stops. i am aware that the front brake needs more pressure than the rear brake, but for some reason i seem to slam the brake similar to a car. is there any techniques or tips you guys can give me to help this problem. i have had the read tire lock up and slide to the right or left a few times, and it is not a pleasant experience lol.

Thanks

·
It's a lifestyle
155 Posts
Stop locking the rear tire.

If you feel the rear has locked up then let off the rear brake.

Focus more on the front brake but give attention to both.

·
Registered
917 Posts
it just takes time, I'd practice using just the rear brake and you can feel at what point the tire will lock up. Remember your stopping power is 80% front brakes and 20% rear brake

·
best used over 10,000rpm
269 Posts
Some poeple use the rear brake alot some dont.
Im one of the latter, changed pads when i got this bike 1 year ago, the rears still look like new, lol.

Remember everything on a bike, is the smother the better, so not jumping on the gas, jumping on the brakes, be progressive with everything.

·
Chicken Strips Sold Out
473 Posts
If you are not confident about the rear, and want to use them, just apply it lightly.
I know coming from cars, things can get confusing first couple of times.
I remember frist time I went on a bike (Coming from a manual car), I tend to stall by slamming in to first on the left leg.
Ofcourse the bike jumped alittle and stopped, but then I realized that the clutch was the left hand and not the left foot....LOL

Apply it lightly and get used to it little by little.
The pressure you give on the rear brake inversely related to how hard you are stopping.