Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2003 yzf r6
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time doing my own mechanical work on motorcycles. I have good knowledge of small engines and have done quite a bit of maintenance on cars but this 03 r6 seems very foreign to me.

I'm about too tackle valve adjustments after taking it too a shop and being bent over all to find out the valves are maxed out on shims. I also want to get ignition timing back to spec as well as possibly getting the head milled. Any help would be awesome. I do have a manual but I find experience from others far outweighs the manual in terms of learning.

Right now I'm just doing simple fixes until the end of riding season, as I live I'm Wisonsin. Ran into my first problem though, was gonna clean the exhuast header but snapped off head bolts about an inch from the head and wondering what the cheapest most effective way is to get then out. I really don't want to drop the engine 1 because of my limited knowledge but also want to know if I can still ride it to work for the time being?

·
Registered
2009 YZF-R6
16 Posts
I'm a computer guy by trade and was able to swap out my blown R6 motor with a junk yard replacement. You wouldn't believe how pleasantly surprised I was when it all worked.
What I learned, watch lots of you tube, label every connector/thing you take off with painters tape, and take lots of pictures. Took about 3 evenings to get the old motor out and 3 more to get the new one in.

·
Registered
2003 yzf r6
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
View attachment 377359
I'm a computer guy by trade and was able to swap out my blown R6 motor with a junk yard replacement. You wouldn't believe how pleasantly surprised I was when it all worked.
What I learned, watch lots of you tube, label every connector/thing you take off with painters tape, and take lots of pictures. Took about 3 evenings to get the old motor out and 3 more to get the new one in.