Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Banned
2,583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys,

My dad has a Yamaha RD 250 that i want to get back in running condition for him but i'm no mechanic. I was wondering if anyone knew a place near NY or NJ that can help me fix it.

The bike's body is in overall good condition, with a paint job and polishing of the chrome it would look Mint. Engine only has 3K Original miles. Bike is currently not running because i tried messing with the Carb and now it wont start. Was told i just need to Tune the Carbs and get a Tune-up and it should be back in 100% working condition.

So if anyone knows someone or a place that can help me fix this for my dad i would really appreciate it. This is my dads favorite bike and to see him out there cleaning it and taking care of it without the funds to fix it breaks my heart.

So like i said the bike needs some minor work and if anyone has an estimate on how much a Carb job is please post.

Thanks in Advance.

·
#KeepPounding
1,735 Posts
Wish I could help bro. But I will say that is a gorgeous machine, and I wish you the best of luck getting it running for your dad man. Id love to see pics of yours and that one on the road together. Sweet project and awesome intentions.

·
Premium Member
17,965 Posts
My coworker didn't know but said it should be dead simple..

Have you done anything to it? Checked the battery? or cleaned the carbs? I'm always down to help if you want to take a stab at it..

·
Parts Pimp
26,470 Posts
My coworker didn't know but said it should be dead simple..

Have you done anything to it? Checked the battery? or cleaned the carbs? I'm always down to help if you want to take a stab at it..
Yeah. It's not gonna be too hard. Start with the carb cleanng and maintenance. Get new spark plugs. Check for spark. Try to start it. If t won't start a spray of starting fluid miht take care of that. New tires and chain and test ride..

·
Premium Member
17,965 Posts