Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
SUCKS!

hey, im a noob here, i ride an 00 6, fairly new to it. only had it a 6 months or so.
but how the heck do u deal with riding on a windy day.. not cuz of the cold, but the freakin loss of control.. i'm crusin and woosh, i'm gusted over. i'm like what the..! so i power on thru and brace for the next one . but you get the jist, big suckfest.

so what are your tecniques for uber windy days? or just drive the f-ing car

·
Knee Draggin Poor Boy
1,238 Posts
I honestly don't know what i do, i just do it and i have never had a problem, even on wheelies.

·
Registered
4,552 Posts
"The worst day on a bike is better than the best day in a car." Avoid the car at all costs. There is not really a technique you just need to get out and ride more so you can feel comfortable.

Just wait till you got the thing leaned way over and you get a big gust of wind, way more frightening than on the highway or city streets.

·
Registered
705 Posts
Isn't that saying, "The worst car is always better than the best bike." Haha...or at least that's what my dad still says everytime I see him and the bike subject comes up.

·
Registered
786 Posts
z31maniac said:
"The worst day on a bike is better than the best day in a car." Avoid the car at all costs.
AMEN

First few windy days on the bike, I was on a backroad up here on the 'mountain' .... didn't notice it... (was riding with it , doing some crazyyyy speed) .... once I was in a cross-wind.... it was so bad, my back tire felt like it was sliding under me going in a straight line... I almost thought my alignment was facked...

Windless or windy.... ride on :cheers

·
Registered
728 Posts
deltaonex said:
just lean into the wind.
+1

I guess it's just one of those things that you learn as you go. Riding in the wind is no biggie; however, when you're at a stoplight and the wind comes, WATCH OUT lol.

·
looking for more curves
1,883 Posts