Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
My R6 eats me. True.
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been on a few long rides now (70-150miles each) and afterwards my upper thighs and arms are just killing me. Ive adjusted my front fork preload all the way soft, and the rear preload to 3 (goes up to 10 as the stiffest) and it seemed to help alot. I have a service manual that covers all the adjustments and set everything else just a little softer than standard. I ride with my arm slightly bent at the elbows and sit about 4-5 inches from the tank. Also this is my first year riding in 5 years. Am i doing anything wrong or is it just me using muscles that havent been worked this hard in years?

·
2007 R6
911 Posts
Part of it is using those muscles. I get that way even if I haven't been on a long ride in a month or so.

I always get sore in the same places as well when riding my R6. There is a certain area on the back of my neck that hurts like hell. It doesn't seem to matter how I sit on the bike. I do have some back (disk) problems so I know that doesn't do me any favors with riding a sport bike but one thing I have found to curb fatigue is to stop frequently.

·
My R6 eats me. True.
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah im thinking most of it is just using those muscles more than im used to. Today i stretched really good before going out and felt better but its always in those areas that hurt the most. Also my wrists, is feels like im having to learn on the handle bars alot even though im keeping a loose grip

·
Still learning
259 Posts
I like to to stay on the tank more, I have a tank bag that I rest on. It takes some pain away from my back. But usually my hands go numb after an hr or so. I want some clip on but don't know if I should get risers or not.

·
Nothing Special
52 Posts