Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im getting ready to take my girl for a ride this week. Ive been riding for a few years but never with a rider. Any advice from you veterans.

·
Registered
836 Posts
First, you do have full gear for her... right? If not, wait until you buy some. You put a scratch on that girl and her dad will cut your nuts off.

Bump up your rear preload a couple notches.

Give yourself double the room when braking until you get used to having a passenger.

Don't give her any complicated instructions, just the following. Wait until you tell her to get on/off the bike. Warn you if she needs to adjust her seating position. And look over your inside shoulder through the turns.

Just take it easy in general.

·
Banned
4,021 Posts
defenitly make her tell you when shes goin to shift cause it will move the bike around and you want to be ready for that. :mrgreen:

·
Registered
31 Posts
No wiggling on curves woman!!!!!! haha, i took mine on the 6 for the first time the other evening, she's never been on a bike, and i havent taken a passenger before either, but it was great, just like the guys said, make sure she doesnt go jumping on the bike before you get situated (im short, so i touch on my tippie toes, no biggie if your ready for it though. And getting her to look over your inside shoulder on a corner...never actualy thought of that one, thanks for that. And if she's nervous...just tell her to tap you three times on the chest or something if she gets scared or has a problem, get something like that figured out before hand just incase she has a problem and you cant hear her...trust me, its for YOUR own good lol. good luck, and keep her scratch free
Brian

·
Registered
1,802 Posts