Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,093 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've blown out one of my fork seals (07 R6r). So it needs to be replaced. I need help with a few things because I've never done this before.

Here are my questions:

1) Since one is blown, obviously I should rebuild both. Right?
2) What special tools will I need?
3) What oil should I go with?
4) Should I upgrade/replace anything else while I'm in there?
5) What brand fork seals should I go with?
6) Anything else I should keep in mind?

Thanks for the help!

edit: Encase anyone else needs the same help, here's some videos that were recommended to watch.

For 06/07 R6 you will need two of each of the following part numbers (to do both forks):

3VD-23115-00-00 (guide cover)
5VU-23145-00-00 (oil seal)
3VD-23156-00-00 (oil seal clip)
3VD-23144-00-00 (dust seal)

You will also need:
41mm Fork seal driver and bullet.
A liter of Fork oil (not quite sure on weight yet)
Some Ultra Slick Seal Grease

·
Official Noob Greeter
55,856 Posts
1. Replace them in pairs
2. Fork seal driver is the only need
3. Ohlins or maxima
4. Check the bushings for wear and replace as necessary. Also, if you have the scratch put in some cartridges.
5. OEM Yamaha
6. Its messy, and it sucks. Take your time. If the bushings are good, you can usually put a small piece of saran wrap around them when you pull the fork leg apart to keep them from getting damaged, but its not necessary. Just read the manual, watch the videos, and get your hands dirty

·
Official Noob Greeter
55,856 Posts

·
Official Noob Greeter
55,856 Posts
What size fork seal driver do I need?
The one that is the same size as the inner tube outside diameter. I wanna say 43mm, but double check that....anyone?

You might consider the fork seal bullet too, protects the seal from the bushing groove (the reason I said use saran wrap...)

·
Premium Member
12,093 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·