Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,536 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know these are questions that I could just call the local track for but im going to ask them anyways just so I can be prepaired for when I do go.

I live in Oceanside Ca and have always wanted to go to the track. I have been riding for four years now and really want the experience of a track where I can use my bike for what it was made for.

What kind of riding gear do I need?

What do I need to do to my bike to prep for the track?

What kind of costs are involved i.e. insurance entry fee's, and track time.

Thank you in advance. Gotta be able to justify it with the wife.

·
Premium Member
35,477 Posts
For the most part, most track day schools "SHOULD" be the same.

Down here in Texas, you need helmet, suit (1pc or 2pc), boots, and over the wrist gloves.

For the bike, you need to tape up your head lights, brake lights, turn signals and basically any piece of glass on your bike. You can tape up your mirror or remove them, removing them is easier, imo.

Costs are usually just a one time fee for that day but I know some track day schools charge a membership fee of some sort. Not to mention you have to account for extra costs such as drinks, snacks, gas, track day supplies, etc.

Hope this helps :cheers

·
Meh
9,250 Posts
^ Pretty much nailed it.

Track day fees can range from $125 - $250 depending on the track and the organization. They're usually around $150 though. Some tracks (Willow, Chuckwalla) will also have an additional entrance fee of around $10.

SoCal Trackdays requires you to safety wire your drain plug - but they run open days (no groups) and are not suitable for doing your first track day.

Beyond what babymilo36 said, you'll need to make sure your tires and brake pads are in good shape and you're not leaking any fluids.

Back protector is highly recommended, but not required.

·
Premium Member
35,477 Posts
^ Pretty much nailed it.