Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys I got a question for you that somebody here might be able to answer. I have a 03 r6 and it's streched and low.when I go over speed bumps it bottoms out and scraps across the bump. My question is does someone make a plate or something that somehow mounts in the bottom fairings that protects the lower exhaust from such things, kinda like a skid plate for a car? Sorry if this sounds stupid, but I'm still a noob lol

·
Registered
5,244 Posts
stretching & lowering a bike changes the geometry. Pretty clear whoever did your suspension work is a dumbass to put it mildly. Raising it back up and putting the bike back to the proper wheelbase will solve your problems.

·
First Gen FTW
11,444 Posts
The only way to solve your problem is to lift the bike back up to stock. Or custom tune it to you at normal ride height.

are you short? Why is it low?

·
Official Noob Greeter
55,856 Posts
Get an adjustable link on the rear and bring it back up a little bit. maybe bring the forks up a little too. Too low just leads to scraping and can even hurt traction.

·
Yamaha Blue in any color
3,254 Posts
:eek5

No skid plates for streetbikes that I've ever seen. But maybe you could start something new. Possibly diamond plate lower fairings?

Seriously though, choices are pretty much:
  1. return bike to stock height
  2. avoid speedbumps
  3. do something really interesting to keep the belly from scraping

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·