Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yo,

:roll: This is my first year riding, so I have not ridden in hot weather 90-100 degrees. Now my question is how is it like wearing a perf leather bike jacket in this weather (plus helmet). Do you sweat like a monkey or is it not that bad. To be honest, I sweat real easily regardless but should I invest in another leather or should I get a really good textile cooler jacket. I currently have a Yamaha replica racing leather that is considerabley light (Kinda like the Vanson style) but there is another Yamaha jacket that I see which looks AWSOME and would match my bike perfect...should I consider getting another leather or will I not use it in the summer. Please honest and expierence answers please....thanks dudes !!

:moon

:?:

·
Registered
443 Posts
Well, many people here will probably tell you that, Textile sucks. I guess it doesn't hold up as well as leather if you wreck. I have a leather/textile jacket from joe rocket, but I am looking for leather. I live in the desert, it gets damn hot here. Once your moving, the heat is not really much of an issue, you feel it more at stops, but thein it feels great cause you start to work up a sweat at a stop, when you take off the air feels great.

Im gonna look for a leather jacket with small holes on the chest to help get air in.

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
Go leather ... textile sucks...

You'll only be hot when you stop to stand around and most jackets now can be removed when you aren't riding.

·
Registered
4,156 Posts
or look for a leather one that has a removable liner. I have one in mine and it certainly makes a difference. Much cooler without it in.

·
Registered
318 Posts