Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4,950 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm an auto tech, so I'm perfectly comfortable and capable of working on things. But, I don't know jack about motorcycle suspensions or anything about adjusting them. So, I bought this book yesterday online (from www.bullpublishing.com for those that may be interested):

Obviously, I don't have the book yet. But I noticed something today when sitting on my bike. I had never paid any attention to my suspension settings before and have NEVER adjusted anything, simply because I didn't know anything about what I would be doing. So all these settings have been like this the entire time I've owned the bike (bought it brand new last August).

I took a couple pictures of what I saw: Attachments. The first pic is the left fork, the second, the right fork. Do these settings look off to anyone else? I will add that I found my left fork sat about 2mm higher in the triple tree than the right one. (Thanks dealership) I've corrected that and it made a world of difference, especially with the Hyperpro damper on it.

Somebody tell me I'm not crazy.

Attachments

·
Registered
767 Posts
honestly, just looking, I can't see the difference... maybe it's just me. when you adjust the suspension, you turn everything to full-stiff, and back it out (x) clicks/turns to whatever setting you decide on, this way you can be sure exactly where you're set at.

You might want to read sportrider magazine sometimes, there's some really good info in there. Here's a link to their site with the suggested suspension settings (the 07 is the same as the 06), you can look in your owner's manual for specific instructions on making adjustments.

http://www.sportrider.com/tech/146_suspension_settings/index10.html