Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Learning every day
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is Michael and I'm new to the R6 forum so thank you all for having me and taking the time to read my post! I grew up riding dirt-bikes, started off on a little blue 50cc Yamaha and made it up to a KTM 250 before I stopped at about age 14. Last year at 19 I decided to get my motorcycle license and spent the riding season on an older Ninja 250. I put in about 1,000 miles on that 250 and now feel that I'm ready to move up to a 600, could be wrong. A little background about myself sophomore in college in Colorado and also believe myself to have good risk judgment (3 years on the US Development team). I am buying this myself (no more birthday presents from mom and dad ) and have about $5,500 to spend. Another small piece of information, I'm 5'6" 165 pounds, is height a problem on the R6? I've done my research and know that the last overhaul of the R6 was in 2008, is it worth it to shell out more money for an 08+? And what should I expect to pay for a 2006-2007 vs 2008-2009? I apologize in advance if I went about my first post the wrong way!

P.S. My R6 eats me.

·
Reads the rulez
2,255 Posts
You'll be fine at your height, but the R6 will be tall. Mine with the superbike tail is taller than you might think. I'm about 5'10" with a 32" inseam, and I can't flat foot with both feet.

08+ is the only way to go...I would recommend saving a little bit more for a '08 than spending less than 5500 to get an older one.

Budget ~$1k for gear...good gear if you don't already have it.

·
Learning every day
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
You'll be fine at your height, but the R6 will be tall. Mine with the superbike tail is taller than you might think. I'm about 5'10" with a 32" inseam, and I can't flat foot with both feet.

08+ is the only way to go...I would recommend saving a little bit more for a '08 than spending less than 5500 to get an older one.