Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Death to chicken strips
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys,

R6 noob here, I'm buying an '08 R6 from this guy and he's been going back and forth on the year....the title doesn't expire confidence either because titles list the manufacture year (07), not the actual model year.....

My question is, are there any telltale visual differences between 07 and 08?
I know from research that the major change for 2007 was the introduction of Yamaha Chip Controlled Intake....is there any way I can tell that my bike has YCC-I?

Thanks.

·
Registered
5,244 Posts
lots of tell tale signs... first and foremost the VIN stamp on the frame side.

08 parts could be retrofitted to the older models. The VIn is the ultimate identifyer

·
Death to chicken strips
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My concern with the VIN is that one of the previous owners may have swapped out frames....I'm getting this bike really cheap from this guy that used it only on the track. He says he built the bike together from parts...but that the bike is mostly 08.

It looks like the best way to distinguish post 08 bikes from pre 08 bikes is by the YCC Intake, but I have no idea how to check if the bike actually has this feature.

·
Registered
5,244 Posts
My concern with the VIN is that one of the previous owners may have swapped out frames....I'm getting this bike really cheap from this guy that used it only on the track. He says he built the bike together from parts...but that the bike is mostly 08.

It looks like the best way to distinguish post 08 bikes from pre 08 bikes is by the YCC Intake, but I have no idea how to check if the bike actually has this feature.
Just based on this info... why would you even want the bike? And no... I have an 07 with the YCC setup but you couldnt tell by looking.

·
Registered
284 Posts