Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Read Only
1,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys, I'm a n00b. I just started riding, so I'm still getting the hang of everything.

My question is as stated: What is the BEST or CORRECT way to shift up AND down? What's the best RPM's to up-shift and at what MPH??

I don't want to burn up my clutch in a year.
Any positive input would be GREATLY appreciated.

I already looked at shifting techniques and read the manual with suggested shifting blah blah. I just want YOUR input. I'll be riding around the city mostly. Top speed will probably be 55.......:D

·
NCSportbikes.com
701 Posts
Go by feel if it feels like you need to shift then shift. Don't worry about what the manual says, our bikes aren't meant to shift at 2500 rpms and run in 6th gear at 45mph. Get to know how your bike feels and reacts at different rpms and what it likes and doesn't like when down shifting. Every bike has it's likes and dislikes you just have to learn yours.

It's all about how the bike feels and sounds. Also don't be cranking it to 14 grand every single time you want to shift either... The r6 will still pull at 12 grand but riding up there all the time isn't going to give you the longest life either...

·
Living The Dream
3,806 Posts
around the city i usually shift around 4k..downshifting is an art of its own

it all about listening to your bike shell tell you what she wants

·
Registered
5,244 Posts
That'll help him learn to shift... Douche.
no...actually it will save his life since he doesnt seem to have the requisite skill to ride a sportbike. Plus he is just a statistic waiting to happen with questions like that.
I dont think Ive ever heard anyone ask a question so obtuse. Then again im not on the front line at MSF courses:rolleyes:

·
Read Only
1,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·