Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK weird topic day today. I'm bored so bare with me.

I believe most of us can agree that riding a motorcycle fast is as mental (if not more than) it is a physical challenge.

We see motoGP riders (namely marquez) crash at a free practice and go out again 5 minutes later to break lap records.

How do they do it?

How do you do it?

I personally have crashed only twice in 2 years of pure track riding history. After my crash, 2-3 following track days I've done were complete disaster. I wasn't able to lean at all. I was suuuper slow. It really mind *****ed me. At that point I was a complete noob too so that didn't help.

Second crash was recent. 1st trackday after the crash was a wash. I was really slow. 2nd started really bad too. Saturday my best was 10 secs down on my personal best. But Sunday I got down to 5 secs within.

Still not good enough. But I found that the best way in this situation is just throwing yourself in more and more practice to get over it as fast as you can.

REALIZING that it's 99% in your head helps a lot. I could've blamed the bike or just chalk it up as a "ehhh not my day today" but I realized I was just being a p*ssy and tried to push myself a bit harder...

Don't get me wrong I'm still a major p*ssy :D

But how do you approach post crash riding? How do you get over it and go just as fast as you were. Do you slow down at all after a crash? Or are you like Marquez? Get annoyed and go even faster.

:popcorn:

·
track junkie
2,257 Posts
i went right back out and did my usual lap times right after my crash this year. analyze why it happened, try your best to learn from it and move on. mistakes happen, that's how we improve. dwelling on it won't help. you let it stay in your head. i think i must've just extracted the lesson from my actions and continued. if that's the case, you're fighting a personal battle that only you have the answer to...