Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased my first bike, a 2000 Yamaha R6, from a friend in February. I started riding in April and got my license soon after. I had some friends telling me to expect some mixed reactions at stoplights and in traffic but I never expected people could hate these bikes so much!

I was riding to my firend's house and was a short distance away when I stopped behind a line of traffic which was stopped for a bus. I was in the right hand lane of a two-lane, so traffic was passing beside me quite freely at 60 km/h. I soon heard and noticed a vehicle(a late-eighties Jimmy/ Blazer) slowing down beside me to about 5-10km/h.

Naturally I looked over to the vehicle and saw an guy in the passenger seat (Caucasian, about 40-50 years of age, shaved head, some grey facial hair) begin hanging out the vehicle, looking slightly back toward me. He made sure he made eye contact with me and then....hhhaaaacccchhhh...ppppuhhh!!!! THE GUY SPIT RIGHT AT ME THEN FLIPPED ME OFF!!! Luckily he missed by a couple inches and the driver took off.

Obviously some-what angry and dumbfounded, I eventually caught up to the vehicle to get his plate number. As I followed behind I could see the passenger was irrate. He took his seatbelt off and he began hanging out his window again, looking back, flipping me off and screaming obscenities and trying to get me to pull up beside him. Rather than freaking out I simply shook my head and gave him the "naughty, naughty" index finger shake. Any time he yelled I'd take my engine up to about 12,000 RPM and drown him out which had two effects:
1. He got mad because what he was yelling was drowned out, and
2. He probably really didn't like the sound of sportbikes, let alone one drowning out his every rant.

The driver soon turned off and I kept going to avoid this idiot trying to corner me and knock me down.