Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Having trackday withdraws
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
tips/pointers on body position?

Hey all, I just did my 2nd track day at NCCAR or NCBIKE, in North Carolina. I'm the one on the blue R6. I have come to the conclusion that you really have to stick your knee out there, I made a conscious effort to do it, but looking at the pics it's not even close to out far enough. Also in one of the pics you'll see a guy in a white suit. We chatted after a few sessions and he says that I'm trying to counter lean on corners. I would just like to verify if this was correct. It didn't feel like it, it doesn't look like it, but again I am new to this whole thing. I did end the day with scuffs on the knee sliders and I have no clue how they got there. I did feel like the front was almost going to wash out when I tried leaning further and going faster around the super long corner.

Basically what i'm asking, is how is my body position?

Attachments

·
"The Dude abides .. "
4,719 Posts
let me preface by saying you have the PERFECT track bike, i mean that. An 04r6 is awesome.. don't ever sell it, even if you get another bike, keep this for your track days.

like many new to track riders that come from the street, it takes time to get the body shifted to the inside. Look at the guy in white leathers, his body center is further to the inside, but his body isn't leaning any more than you are. shift the butt over, you don't have to "hang off" a great deal a-la MotoGP style, but you do wanna get your weight shifted to the inside a bit.. no need to make tons of changes, just keep at it and work on one thing at a time.

·
Registered
1,877 Posts
You're practically sitting straight up on the bike.

Always keep in mind that dragging a knee is a result of good body positioning and getting faster and faster in a corner. Just trying to drag, especially with that positioning will lead you to low side.