Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
646 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Couldnt find a thread about this, maybe someone could help. Ive never used or thuoght about tire warmers but the track bike i just purchased came w/a set. it also had extra slicks and rain tire, but the ones mounted are regular tread. i was curious how necessary tire warmers are or if you can just about warm up any tire w/a few laps (including slicks)? as a beginner i will be running DCIII's for a while but I plan to use up w/e is left of the mounted tires.
also found an article and it appears warmers are not required for ANY tire really:
http://ronhix.com/docs/2008PirelliNesbaFlyer.pdf

·
Registered
7 Posts
I have been to a few WERA races, work in the pit for my b/f . He always uses the tire warmers. Then you dont have to take it easy the first few laps warming the tires... ;)

·
wat?
722 Posts
Do not use warmers on DC3s (or any street tire). Warmers are for DOT Races or Slicks.

Any tire CAN be warmed up normally, it's just a question of how long it takes. Street tires heat up much faster than DOT Races or Slicks... and are also far more predictable while cold.

Heat cycles are another potential issue that does not apply to street tires but does to track tires; having them on warmers means each day at the track is only 1 heat cycle instead of 8. The impact of heat cycles is virtually a non-issue these days though with new tire tech as the tires wear out long before heat cycles even begin to really matter...

If you have them and DO start running track tires, then USE THEM! It allows you to set hot pressures (so no guesswork on what PSI you are running) and allows you to go hard every lap from the start instead of trying to gradually work up on cold tires each time.

·
Registered
646 Posts
Discussion Starter #4