Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Yamaha R6 2004
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. I am new to the forum and the reason I am here is that I want to turn my old R6 into a track bike.

Here is a some info about me:

My name is Nikolay and I am 26. I live in Bulgaria (Eastern Europe) and I've never been on a track yet. I own a 2004 R6 that I am refusing to sell it because I really love it. I want to start doing track days and I think that this R6 will do a perfectly job.
Since I dont know how hard and often I am going to ride I dont want to do any engine improvements for now. First I want to protect the bike from eventual crashes.

Here is a list of the upgrades I am planning to do:

• Engine guards
  • Frame sliders
  • Wheel Axle protectors
  • Front brake lever protector
  • Steering damper
  • Quick Shifter
  • Gear indicator
Can you direct me what brands / models to look for because I have no experience with the race parts. Also I will be really thankful if you remind me something important that I missed.

Best regards, Nikolay

·
Registered
2011 R6 Race Bike
118 Posts
You will be swapping out tires alot more frequently so if you can find a used set of wheels complete with rotors, that will help in the future. I'll also add captive spacers! Bike protection is definitely a smart first move. Frame sliders are hit and miss. Some guys use them, others don't because they can help the bike catch in a slide and flip it causing more damage.

Having the suspension setup for you is worth every penny. You don't need to start off with full Ohlins but at least get it sprung and the sag setup.

When looking at brands, just stick with known names. Ebay specials are what they are... R & G, Vortex, Woodcraft, etc are a safe bet.

Then save the rest of your money for track time and tires. Oh, and don't skimp on quality gear! Get to some schools and ask lot's of questions.

Good luck and have fun out there!

·
Registered
5,143 Posts