Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

Which gloves should replace my Teknic full gauntlets

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
"MEA R6"
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've had a pair of Teknic gauntlets for the past 3 years now. Never had a problem with them. They fit great and they have been extremely durable. I could not be any more satisfied with a pair of track/street gauntlets. I only wear gauntlets when I ride. I believe safety on the street and track is of the utmost importance. When I started riding, I wasn't this way. I lowsided my 02 r6 in 2011 and have stressed to all riders to wear their gear since then....not to go into the full story but it was a low speed no injury accident that made me more conservative in my riding gear.

Fast forward to last weekend, I lowsided the same R6 (pictures to follow) and my gloves did a great job protecting my hands. The problem is that now I need a new pair of track gauntlets.

I'm undecided what brand to go with because Teknic no longer makes the gloves that I had, or any gloves that I can find for that matter. So far I am interested in the RS Taichi GP-EVO, Alpinestars GP Tech, Held Phantom II, and the Knox Handroid.

I cant stress how much I love the scaphoid protective pucks that my Tecknic gloves had. The pucks did their job and as such, I didn't have any injury on my hands, not even so much as a sore wrist. Therefore, my concern is that if I go with the Phantom II, I'd miss the palm pucks. If I went with the A* GP Tech or Handroid, I'd still get the palm puck but not a signficant patch and spend a little more....From the pictures you can see how much the Teknic pucks wore down from contact with the pavement.

The price point from the Held to the RS Taichi isn't much, but the Knox is moderately more and the A* is considerably more expensive. So, I need help. I am leaning toward the GP-EVO, but I've always wanted the Phatom II, I just think I'll miss the pucks. And go.

Attachments

·
Registered
5,244 Posts