Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

I have been trying to break out of my fear of turning at highspeeds
(60-80mphs) I fell before when I was a real newbie at 25mph. I locked the back break and the back tire slipped from under me and I did a 360 off the bike. Ever since then, I fear that when I hit a turn at those speeds mentioned early Im scared that the tire is going to slip from under me. Can someone pass me some advice on how to lean this 07 R6..lol BTW..it was a girl that just started riding last year smoked me on the cornering, but she took a class. I started riding in 09 for about 4 months before my bike got stolen. Then I sat ut the whole 2010.

PLEASE ADVISE GUYS THANKS!

·
Super Mod
1,292 Posts
fear can get you hurt out there. if you happen to be going into a turn a little faster then you want to be, and you freak out, you will go off again. get your mind off of it but take it slow. no need to rush. and really, dont compare yourself to any other riders because it doesnt matter what they are capable of. go at your own speed.

·
Lets RIDEEEE!!!!
506 Posts
fear can get you hurt out there. if you happen to be going into a turn a little faster then you want to be, and you freak out, you will go off again. get your mind off of it but take it slow. no need to rush. and really, dont compare yourself to any other riders because it doesnt matter what they are capable of. go at your own speed.
+1 take the course get comfortable with your ride and then it will come naturally.

·
Registered
598 Posts
Ummm don't hit the brakes in a corner....and just gradually go in faster and faster. Like said, you can't ride with fear or you WILL go down again. Just knowing also that your bike will stick is a good thing too, you went down before because you hit the brakes. You won't be able to out ride the grip on your tires on the street. Going down is 98% of the time another factor like gravel and dirt.

·