Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I recently bought a 2001 R6, I immediately noticed that upon twisting the throttle.. it doesn't go back. It'll just stay wherever I move it to. I'm quite new to bike mechanics so can someone recommend a guide or an explanation of what I can do to fix this please? thank you!

·
Make good choices.
2,808 Posts
First make sure the return cable isn't broken.

Assuming nothing is broken, run through this list I just made up:

1. Make sure the nothing is dragging on the handlebar, preventing the throttle tube from turning. Maybe the end of the throttle tube is all chewed up? Maybe the grip rubber is overhanging the throttle tube and rubbing on the bar? A new throttle tube isn't very expensive if you think it will help: http://www.motionpro.com/motorcycle/partno/01-0094/
2. Take apart the throttle housing and make sure everything is lubed up so nothing binds.
3. Lube the cables. You'll need one of these little gadgets: http://www.motionpro.com/motorcycle/partno/08-0182/.
4. Spray the springs on the carburator with some aerosol lube.
5. Make sure the cable routing is correct and they aren't kinking/binding somewhere.

That should probably take care of it.

·
Mr. HER6
2,084 Posts
I use tri-flo on the cables. You can find it at any bicycle shop and it's a great lubricant. I use it on all sorts of stuff.

Another likely cause of the throttle sticking is that one of the cables is too tight. There should be a tiny bit of slack on them, but if they are too tight it can stick like that. You can see the slack and adjust it where they attach to the throttle wheel on the carbs.

·
Stunt Rider
7,982 Posts
Wd-40?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Hm alright thanks guys i'll probably try all this over the weekend.. I might just buy new cables if I have to take the fairings and gas tank off.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·