Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys,

So I got my R6 through its MOT today!!!! I bought my R6 3 weeks ago from a guy who had it in storage for over 4 years. The bike is a 2000 R6 with just under 7000 miles on the clock, last MOT being 2008. I bought it knowing it needed a lot of work put in so I also got a Haynes manual and found this helpful site! I've never worked on a bike before so I want to say a serious thanks to this site and its contributors because I've read hundreds of articles and comments and it has helped me so much. I couldn't of done it without you!

The majority of the work was stripping down and cleaning the parts. With the low mileage I hoped nothing would need replacing. I learnt as I went along, taking a bunch of pictures to keep a log of where every part went.

The work (so far) includes:
Fuel tap fix
Air filter clean
Carb cleaning
Tank de-rusting
Coolant change
Oil change
Carb syncing

I will post the progress in sections over the next few days to keep it neat. Any questions please ask! and feedback is greatly appreciated as I've never done anything like this before!

This is a picture of my bike from its listing before it was delivered to me

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
When the bike was delivered it started, but the bike sounded very sluggish and kept stalling. The next morning, before I had a chance to take pictures of my new bike, I started taking it apart!

First remove the seat. The two screws are in the rear two corners, just pull up the corners and the bolt is accessible. The seat just lifts up after they have been removed. I would recommend screwing bolts back onto the bike as you go so you don't need to remember where each screw came from.

Disconnect the battery.

To remove the tank there are two screws just below the handlebars and a bolt at the base of the tank which the tank pivots on.