Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm currently using standard unleaded fuel I think this is RON 95, but if I go for lets say Shell Optimax this is about RON 98, will this make the bike go any better or should I just stick to normal unleaded? :idea:

·
Registered
308 Posts
This is a long shot, but judging from what i heard about cars turbo engines do not work/boost on regular octane gas (85), so they need premium gas (89-91). Also the engine knocks and chatters like its struggling to go. Then someone told me that race fuel is like 200 octane, i dont know if thats true but it makes sense. I say buy the highest octane you can it should definately help the engine out.

·
Registered
531 Posts
I've been using premium in mine for about 12 months & she runs pretty good.

One thing to look out for if your going to use premium instead of regular is to get you premium from a high turnover gas station. If you got to a local one that does not get very many people in using premium, the fuel you get might have been sitting in there for months(?) so there might be condensation buildups in the tanks or similar contaminents which might affect running.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the help guys going for a ride today I'll ride till empty the fill up with premium fuel and tell you if I noticed any increase in power / smoother mid range etc. :scared

·
Registered
504 Posts
Owner's manual actually suggests you use premium fuel. I always have and haven't had any problems.

·
Registered
4,159 Posts