Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just read a forum and they mentioned speed shifting a few times. from what I gater its just pushing the shift lever to shift without the clutch. But how dose that work and should it be done? :confused: They also said something about a clutch that came in the 06+ gsxr that is made to do it.

anyway any help would be awesome. (keep in mind im still a noob rider)

·
Phi Phi K A
823 Posts
Yes. Shifting without the clutch. And yes, its fine. But DO NOT down shift without the clutch. That is bad mmmkay. Clutchless shifting is used at the track. It takes a little practice. It is not neccessary for the street.

·
Intermediate Knee Dragger
1,309 Posts
The 06+ GSXR 600/750 have a slipper clutch. It does not have anything to do whatsoever with clutchless shifting. It allows you to be a little sloppy with your rev matching while downshifting, though they can still be locked up (personally tested... Oopsy.) All motorcycles can shift without the clutch fairly easily, though it is easier on some than others. For anything with a chain final drive it is dead simple.

Clultchless shifting is easy. While accelerating you pre-load the shifter by putting your toe underneath it (or on top of it if you're doing the race-pattern-thang) and applying slight pressure. Then you roll off the throttle for just a moment and then roll it back on. When you roll off the throttle, it unloads the transmission, which allows it to slip gently and smoothly into the next gear; no grinding, no muss, no fuss. Done correctly it is quite smooth and saves you a second or two on your laptimes.

For street riding it's just for bragging rights for the Starschmucks parking lot pimps.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks chango, I will have to try it next time I am out. is there any rpm that I should be at or dose it work at all rpms?

·
Will Race for Food
136 Posts