Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just picked an 05 with 3000 miles I figured with such low miles it would be probably free. No such luck haha. Well it is leaking gas from a straight nipple in the fuel pump comp. the nipple has play in it like it is removable and has an o-ring to seat it. Well just wondering what the part was called and if anyone has ever had this Problem. Thanks Ian

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah but it isn't the pump itself right. Does that nipple come out? The pump is working just fine just leaking where that nipple meats that housing. Thanks for the quick reply. 60 in New York today and I'm not riding :(

·
Registered
6 Posts
Im an auto mechanic. if its the same design as car pumps everything that you see in the picture that is plastic and white is the top of the fuel pump, and its all one piece.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Dude I got the same exact problem on my 05!!!! Must be a common problem with that year..I was trying to look up that part too but no such thing. It only sells as one component: the pump and the assembly together. There's pumps on eBay as well but u never know the life span of the pump. Was wondering if maybe I can put some JB weld of something around the outer perimeter so it'll stop leaking but I don't know how effective that will be..?

·
Registered
2,907 Posts
first how sure are you it's not the hose leaking? that is the return line so it doesn't have a super amount of psi going to it. that's why it's just on there with a hose clamp. if the hose is hard it will leak.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I was able to fix the problem with seal all. No more gas leak. Much cheaper than buying the whole pump comp. thanks for the info. It wasn't the hose just poor design in my opinion.

·
Registered
11 Posts