Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all
planning to get a R6 for my weekend blast bike, I currently have a 2014 MT07 to commute to work but my wife keeps stealing it on the weekends and leaves me at home with nothing to ride. I have owned many bikes over the years but my last sport bike was in the early 80s and was a Duke 750ss from 77. as I am quite small (170cm and 70kg ) Im looking for a sporty bike thats both easy to ride and fun, I have thought about a GSXr 750, CBR600R, ZXR6 and a R6, I test rode an R1 but its way to heavy and big for me (and a bit to fast as well) Looking for a tame bike for 3 to 4 hr rides up and down the coast, So I will defer to you all (who are the experts) as to which R6 to get. Cost is the main issue as I have just spent a heap on the MT, thought the first gen would be good. Not to concerned about the G/Box issues as I am a mechanic and engineer so I love to fiddle, paint, mod and fix bikes.
PS, Im and old fart (50+) and just like to ride, may even like to do a track day or two but outright power is not my main goal, just smooth easy riding at normal speeds.

Your thoughts.

·
Do you even lean bro?
164 Posts
The 600rr I had was easier to cruise than the R6 I picked up this summer.

It took a little time, but I wouldn't go back...R6 is high strung, but after 10k.....it pulls like a beast.

·
Premium Member
252 Posts
I've ridden all 4 bikes and I found the CBR and GSXR to be more comfortable for longer rides as they don't sit as aggressive in riding position as compared to the ZX6R and Yamaha. That's how I felt on them anyways. I own a 2012 R6 right now and love it. I've done 800 km day trips on it and I was still happy. Love the amount of power it provides. Keep it at low RPM for calm cruising or keep it higher to open her up and have a little fun. Good luck with your choice. Ride Safe.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·