Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello guys I am new to this R6 forum, and i was looking around for different fuel mapping devices and I am stuck on the power commander V but the probelm is that my bike is a 2008 model and they only sell them for 2009 and newer, so i was wounder if the 2009 model will work, or if i have to get the PC3. my bike is 49 state legal, because I live in Cali. thank you guys for all of your abundent knowledge haha

·
Sticky-side-down.
465 Posts
I have a PCV on my 07 and its wonderful. Got mine through MJSperformance good price, great service and Mike loaded up their own map.

·
Banned
7,347 Posts
yeah dyno jet's site is a little misleading. whoever made it is a numb nut.
they list the older R6 as a 600r and show a picture of a 600r.
(yzf 600 R6) lol
that's 2 different bikes.
the picture for a 2004 is a third gen.:screwy
makes a bit affraid to trust their product.

·
crashing aint so bad
2,271 Posts
Some of the mapping and program features are different for each year of bike dependent upon what changes are made to the bikes. In 2009 the R6 came with a variable length intake tract. This will need to be something the PCV can handle for physical changes to connections or mapping needs. Also for the second generation bikes, even though the connections are all the same, each year is loaded with different stock maps. The PC unit is loaded with a map for that specific year of bike to compensate for the changes. In 2005 the R6 came with larger throttle bodies and a different fuel regulator. This will require different mapping.

·
Banned
7,347 Posts