Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals : Yamaha R6 : R6 Forum

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums > R6 Related Discussion > How To's...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 01:41 AM   #1
╠ Θ Wť ╣►
ლ(ಠ益ಠლ←♫→ლ(ಠ益ಠლ
 
╠ Θ Wť ╣►'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 壣 ∩
Posts: 424
Bike: 2005 R6
Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Converting 2-Wire Signals to 3-Wire Functionality


This is a How-to on producing the same functionality that the front stock turn signals had, but with your new 2-wire aftermarket signals.


Here are the final Results:
The turn signal light on the Left of your screen is the Relay Option
The turn signal on the Right is utilizing the Diode/Resistor Option


This mod comes in two flavors:
1. Relay Option – This keeps your running light at full brightness and the light blinks on/off when the turn indicator is activated.

2. Diode/Resistor Option – This keeps the signal dimly lit, flashing at full brightness when the turn indicator is activated.


What you will need:
Soldering iron, resin core solder and flux. Electrical Tape. Wire Cutter/Strippers. 30 minutes.

Relay Option:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...LAID=107591283 (12V, 1A Relay)

Diode/Resistor Option:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062589 (1N4001 Rectifying Diode)
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062342 (470Ω Resistors)




Electrical Schematic of Relay Option & Diode/Resistor Option :




Electrical Schematic of relay:




Step 1: Cut 3 wire OEM turn signal lead, NOT THE HARNESS!!




Step 2: Cut the 2 wire aftermarket turn signal lead.




Step 3: Prep the wires




Step 4: Wire according to the schematic


Final Result of wiring on Relay Option: Note both grounds (black) are soldered on the same post. Also one on the relay posts is left floating.




Final result of wiring on Diode/Resistor Option: (Solder these first, you can twist together prior to soldering if needed)





Step 5: Insulate the exposed metal surfaces with electrical tape



I personally decided on going the Diode/Resistor Option but kept the relays in case I want to change it.
Enjoy
__________________
Converting 2-wire Turn signals into 3-wire functionality

Quote:
Originally Posted by clothbottom:∙
Hi,thanks for sharing the information here but I don't have a bike.
╠ Θ Wť ╣► is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2011, 06:26 AM   #2
ChiefSmokeDawg
Parts Pimp
 
ChiefSmokeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: JerZ
Posts: 25,961
Bike: 2002 R6, 2008 R6
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

__________________
CONTACT/EMAIL ME HERE



My 02 Thread My 08 Thread
RIP BALLISTIK: We miss you Ricky!!!
Ask about:-STAHLBUS- -WOODCRAFT- -MOTUL- -FERODO- -BRAKE TECH- -BMC- -Battery Tender-LEO VINCE- -XT-RACING- -NGK- -SUOMY- -EBC- -Pro-Grip- -Canyon Dancer-
ChiefSmokeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 07:54 AM   #3
redwood650
Will work for track time
 
redwood650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 19,493
Bike: An orange one
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Nice work!
redwood650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 08:34 AM   #4
toysareforboys
Two Bro's=ORGASM *nohomo*
 
toysareforboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Kanada
Posts: 3,289
Bike: 07 R1
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

On my GF's 09 R6 her new (two wire) LED front signals came with two wiring diagrams. One if you wanted them as running lights and blink for the signals like the stock bulbs, and the other if you wanted them off all the time and just blink when you signal.

We hooked them up so they run all the time and blink when you signal like the stock bulbs. No resistors, diodes or relays were required and they run at full brightness/12v (as measured on my multimeter)!

I'll see if I can find the wiring diagram, but maybe it's different on your 05!?

-Jamie M.
__________________

Last edited by toysareforboys; 10-26-2011 at 08:41 AM.
toysareforboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 07:29 AM   #5
A7xschecter6661
Lovin the R6!
 
A7xschecter6661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 682
Bike: 2003 Flame Raven R6
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by toysareforboys View Post
On my GF's 09 R6 her new (two wire) LED front signals came with two wiring diagrams. One if you wanted them as running lights and blink for the signals like the stock bulbs, and the other if you wanted them off all the time and just blink when you signal.

We hooked them up so they run all the time and blink when you signal like the stock bulbs. No resistors, diodes or relays were required and they run at full brightness/12v (as measured on my multimeter)!

I'll see if I can find the wiring diagram, but maybe it's different on your 05!?

-Jamie M.
Same here when I put my 2 wire flush signals on my 2003.
I hooked it up one way and grounded and the positive wire in one slot and they came on all the time.
So I was like wait that's not right.
Then I switched to the other and they were off and came on for signal.
Then I was like wait a second, I want them on all the time and then to signal!
And switched them back.

Now I got some nice running lights/turn signals.

Love it!

__________________

Sig thanks to Ramm


2003 Flame Raven R6 Modifications: Yoshimura RS-3 Carbon Fiber Slipon...BMC Air Filter...Power Commander III...Shogun S5 Carbon Fiber Sliders and Spools...Yamaha Velocity Stacks...Dunlop Q2s...5000k & 8000k Mintsoda HIDs...GYTR Carbon Fiber Exhaust Hanger...Solo Seat Cowl...Black OEM Windscreen...Black Levers...Euro Key...Motodynamics Integrated Sequential Taillight...Flush Signals...R6 Cutout Fender Eliminator...Red Wheel tape...Black Powder-coated Rearsets

Last edited by A7xschecter6661; 11-20-2011 at 03:03 PM.
A7xschecter6661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 08:55 AM   #6
toysareforboys
Two Bro's=ORGASM *nohomo*
 
toysareforboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Kanada
Posts: 3,289
Bike: 07 R1
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by A7xschecter6661 View Post
Same here when I put my 2 wire flush signals on my 2003.
Bike looks great!! My GF wants me to ditch her running lights and convert them back to blink only cause the colour doesn't match her new devil eyes and angel eyes lol.

Will try and write down the wire colours when I do it later today.

-Jamie M.
__________________
toysareforboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 09:10 PM   #7
A7xschecter6661
Lovin the R6!
 
A7xschecter6661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 682
Bike: 2003 Flame Raven R6
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by toysareforboys View Post
Bike looks great!! My GF wants me to ditch her running lights and convert them back to blink only cause the colour doesn't match her new devil eyes and angel eyes lol.

Will try and write down the wire colours when I do it later today.

-Jamie M.
Ehh doesn't really matter. The colors were different on both sides.
If it doesn't do what you want it to the first time, try the other wire
__________________

Sig thanks to Ramm


2003 Flame Raven R6 Modifications: Yoshimura RS-3 Carbon Fiber Slipon...BMC Air Filter...Power Commander III...Shogun S5 Carbon Fiber Sliders and Spools...Yamaha Velocity Stacks...Dunlop Q2s...5000k & 8000k Mintsoda HIDs...GYTR Carbon Fiber Exhaust Hanger...Solo Seat Cowl...Black OEM Windscreen...Black Levers...Euro Key...Motodynamics Integrated Sequential Taillight...Flush Signals...R6 Cutout Fender Eliminator...Red Wheel tape...Black Powder-coated Rearsets
A7xschecter6661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 04:37 AM   #8
Snakebyt
I eat my R6
 
Snakebyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lubbock Texas
Posts: 2,238
Bike: 05 Raven
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

good how-to, i think i might do this on my 05
__________________
Ive got more chicken strip that Dairy Queen
Snakebyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:01 AM   #9
cbrewer323
R6
 
cbrewer323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,116
Bike: 2006 R6 RAVEN
Quote:
Originally Posted by toysareforboys View Post
Bike looks great!! My GF wants me to ditch her running lights and convert them back to blink only cause the colour doesn't match her new devil eyes and angel eyes lol.

Will try and write down the wire colours when I do it later today.

-Jamie M.
My Gregg's turn signals are red.



Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app
cbrewer323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 12:46 PM   #10
╠ Θ Wť ╣►
ლ(ಠ益ಠლ←♫→ლ(ಠ益ಠლ
 
╠ Θ Wť ╣►'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 壣 ∩
Posts: 424
Bike: 2005 R6
Re: Converting 2-wire to 3 wire Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by toysareforboys View Post
On my GF's 09 R6 her new (two wire) LED front signals came with two wiring diagrams. One if you wanted them as running lights and blink for the signals like the stock bulbs, and the other if you wanted them off all the time and just blink when you signal.

We hooked them up so they run all the time and blink when you signal like the stock bulbs. No resistors, diodes or relays were required and they run at full brightness/12v (as measured on my multimeter)!

I'll see if I can find the wiring diagram, but maybe it's different on your 05!?

-Jamie M.
I see what you're sayin.
http://www.r6-forum.com/forums/showt...t=81221&page=4
__________________
Converting 2-wire Turn signals into 3-wire functionality

Quote:
Originally Posted by clothbottom:∙
Hi,thanks for sharing the information here but I don't have a bike.
╠ Θ Wť ╣► is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is this wire? thunderzy Garage / Mechanical Help 14 01-07-2011 12:45 AM
HELP! how to wire AUDI LED to be running and turn signals! jat5944 How To's... 6 10-19-2010 07:44 PM
HELP: Installing Turn signals, mixed up wire, used wrong fuse. and now nothing works! Notn41 Garage / Mechanical Help 18 08-15-2009 08:11 PM
Fan wire up blacknight99 Garage / Mechanical Help 0 06-15-2008 01:11 AM
3-wire vs. 2-wire blinkers? besheer Appearance and Exterior Mods 11 09-23-2007 12:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum
R6-Forum.com is an independent Yamaha enthusiast website. Content on R6-Forum.com is generated by its users and R6-Forum.com is not in any way affiliated with Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.